Golden Apricot: 11th edition of int’l film festival ends in Yerevan

Golden Apricot: 11th edition of int’l film festival ends in Yerevan


At the weekend another ‘apricotized’ film-week was wrapped up leaving on its pages unforgettable films, meetings, discussions, and master class lessons with world-famous film directors, specialists, scenario writers.

On Saturday at the official closing ceremony of the Golden Apricot 11th Yerevan International Film Festival all winners were announced.

Thus, International Feature Competition Golden Apricot 1st prize went to Ukrainian film director Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy for his The Tribe, which won the FIPRESCI Jury Prize as well. The Silver Apricot prize went to Georgian director Levan Koguashvili for his film Blind Dates. The Special Jury Mention winner is Uberto Pasolini for his Still Life.

In the International Documentary Competition director Giovanni Donfrancesco’s The Stone River won the 1st prize, and directors Elwira Niewera and Piotr Rssolowski’s Domino Effect was awarded the Silver Apricot prize.

In Apricot Stone Short Film Competition the first prize was awarded to Omar Robert Hamilton’s (Palestine/Egypt/Qatar/UK) Though I Know the River is Dry film, and Special Jury Prize went to director Asimina Proedrou’s Red Hulk.

In Armenian Panorama Fiction Feature-Length, the Golden Apricot was awarded to Jivan Avetissyan’s Tevanik, Fiction Short-Length Golden Apricot – to Vahram Mkhitaryan’s Milky Brother film, which was awarded also the Hrant Matevosyan Special Prize as the best script. The Fiction Feature-Length Silver Apricot went to directors Areg Azatyan and Shoghik Tadevossian’s Romanticists.

Ecumenical Jury Prize went to director Lusine Sargsyan for her The Abode.

Special Awards winners of the 11th Golden Apricot are director Hayk Kocharyan’s Please, Be Normal, Ruben Giney’s Andin Armenian Journey Chronicles, and Alen Manoukyan’s Resurrection.

On Friday at the Mother See of Holy Echmiadzin, Catholicos of All Armenians Karekin II handed Armenian Apostolic Church’s special “Let There Be Light” award to Krzysztof Zanussi for spreading spiritual, cultural and humanitarian values and exceptional contribution to the world film art.

However, this year’s favorite was Korean world-famous film director Kim Ki-duk who was presented by one of canvases of Armenian famous painter Minas Avetisyan.

“This is my first visit to Armenia. I had no information about your country. But before coming here I read some information about Armenia in the internet. I know that many like my films here for which I am very grateful. Yesterday and today I spent three hours walking in Yerevan, it reminds me South Korea. From now on I will read more about Armenia,” Kim Ki-duk said at a meeting with reporters earlier last week.

The closing ceremony was marked also by two special awards, Parajanov Thaler Award granted by the festival to two of this year honorable guests - Jia Zhangke, a renowned Chinese filmmaker, and Marco Muller, a distinguished film critic.

“I am glad to be in Armenia and participate in this Yerevan festival. I was invited four years ago, unfortunately I could not come then. And this year coming to Armenia I had a chance to get to know Armenian nature, history and culture,” Jia Zhangke told reporters.

The festival administration granted a special Parajanov Prize to the Minister of Culture, Hasmik Poghosyan, and Yerevan Mayor, Taron Margaryan was awarded with the Mantashyan Knight Golden Medal.

The Golden Apricot Yerevan International Film Festival this year was also realized due to the general sponsor VivaCell-MTS and with the support of the Armenian Ministry of Culture.