Maine becomes third US state to recognize NKR’s independence

Maine becomes third US state to recognize NKR’s independence

Photo: Nanore Barsoumian/

The Maine House of Representatives and Senate passed a joint resolution on Wednesday recognizing the independence of the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic (NKR), and calling on the U.S. President and Congress “to support the self-determination and democratic independence” of NKR.

The resolution urged the President and Congress to support NKR’s “constructive involvement with the international community’s efforts to reach a just and lasting solution to security issues in that strategically important region”, reported the Armenian National Committee of America.

The resolution was introduced by Rep. Scott Hamann (South Portland) and co-sponsored by Rep. Andrew M. Gattine (Westbrook) and Sara Gideon (Freeport).

The measure makes Maine the third U.S. state to pass legislation recognizing the NKR.

The Rhode Island General Assembly passed a resolution in May 2012 supporting the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic’s efforts to develop as a free and independent nation and urging the president and Congress to recognize the independence of Karabakh. Soon thereafter, the Massachusetts House of Representatives also passed a resolution supporting the self-determination and democratic independence of Nagorno-Karabakh.