Opposition-dominated parliament body invalidates Russian gas deal vote

The National Assembly’s counting commission where four of the seven members are representatives of the minority factions invalidated the result of the December 23 vote that ratified the Armenian-Russian gas agreements, reported Civilnet.

The vote was conducted by a show of hands and, with the opposition opting out of it, the deals that in particular give Russia’s gas giant Gazprom full control of Armenia’s gas distribution networks, was passed 77 to 0.

At a special meeting on Thursday, the four opposition members of the commission – Lyudmila Sargsyan of the Armenian National Congress, Artsvik Minasyan, of the Armenian Revolutionary Federation, Tevan Poghosyan, of Heritage, and Tigran Urikhanyan, of the opposition-leaning Prosperous Armenia Party – also found that the chairman of the commission, Sukias Avetisyan, had abused his powers and proposed election of a new chairman.

The protocols from the commission meeting are to be submitted to the National Assembly chairman and the head of the National Assembly administration on December 27.

Earlier, the opposition factions also unveiled their plans to challenge the constitutionality of the December 23 vote at the Constitutional Court.