Putin signs Armenia’s Eurasian Union deal

Russian President Vladimir Putin has put his signature to a law that makes Armenia a full member of the Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) from January 2, 2015.

The document already ratified by the members of the Union, including Kazakhstan and Belarus, stipulates that Armenia joins the Treaty of the EEU, as well as other international agreements signed under the framework of the Customs Union.

On Tuesday, Armenian President Serzh Sargsyan attended the meeting of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council along with the presidents of Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan. The meeting dealt with practical aspects of the launch of the EEU beginning next year.

In his speech Sargsyan thanked the leaders of the EEU member countries for their support to Armenia in joining the EEU.

At the meeting, Kyrgyzstan became the fifth nation to sign the treaty on joining the economic grouping from May 1.