Armenian PM Tigran Sargsyan keeps job in new government

President Serzh Sargsyan has signed a decree appointing Tigran Sargsyan head of Armenia’s new government.

The presidential press service said in a terse press release on Saturday that the head of state signed the decree “based on paragraph 4 of Article 55 of the Constitution of the Republic of Armenia.”

Earlier on Saturday, newly elected Parliament Speaker Hovik Abrahamyan told media that President Sargsyan had held consultations on the matter with leading members of the party represented in its executive body and parliamentary faction.

Tigran Sargsyan (no relation to President Sargsyan), 52, has led the Armenian government since April 2008. Before that he headed the country’s Central Bank for 10 years. Tigran Sargsyan joined the ruling Republican Party of Armenia (RPA) in November 2009.

The RPA, which is led by President Sargsyan, won an absolute majority of seats in the Armenian legislature in the May 6 elections entitling it to form a cabinet of ministers and direct the executive branch of power.

The RPA is currently forming a new government together with Orinats Yerkir after signing a new coalition deal with this party that has a small representation in the current National Assembly.